2015-04-24 / Community

Bibs available through charities

Runners still looking for a spot at the start line of the sold-out TD Beach to Beacon 10K Road Race can secure a bib from Good Shepherd Food Bank, the race’s 2015 race beneficiary, in exchange for fundraising.

Fewer than 150 bibs were still available from Good Shepherd Food Bank and 14 prior race beneficiaries, as of mid April. The charity organizations each year are allotted race entries by the TD Beach to Beacon and TD Bank to use in fundraising efforts.

Good Shepherd Food Bank (www.feedingmaine.org) is the state’s largest hunger relief organization, partnering with 600 local agencies, including food pantries, meal sites, senior centers, schools and other programs. The organization provided more than 17 million meals to Mainers facing hunger last year,

Visit www.gsfb.org/donate/b2b/ to obtain a Good Shepherd Food Bank bib, set up a fundraising page or donate to Good Shepherd Food Bank runners. For more information, call 782-3554 or find the organization on Facebook and Twitter.

“We can’t think of a better, more fulfilling way to get into the race than through our beneficiaries,” said Race President Mike Stone. “We appreciate runners who make fundraising part of their TD Beach to Beacon experience. It’s a great way to receive a bib and also help out the Good Shepherd Food Bank or one of the other former race charities.”

He also encouraged clubs and civic groups looking for a charity activity that combines physical fitness with philanthropy to secure bibs from one or several different race charities.

The TD Beach to Beacon 10K filled 4,000 slots online in a record-setting 4 minutes 15 seconds last month, and the lottery that followed filled the remaining 1,950 spots. This year marks the 18th year for the international road race founded by Olympic gold medalist Joan Benoit Samuelson and set for Saturday, Aug. 1 in Cape Elizabeth.

As 2015 beneficiary, Good Shepherd Food Bank, which offers programs to combat child hunger and provide nutrition education to low-income Mainers, will receive a $30,000 cash donation from the TD Charitable Foundation.

The TD Charitable Foundation has now donated $540,000 to Maine charities over the 18-year history of the TD Beach to Beacon, while many past beneficiaries continue to raise significant funds each year through the race’s charity bib program.

In addition to Good Shepherd Food Bank, bibs are available from the following past beneficiaries of the TD Beach to Beacon:

· Rippleffect - info@rippleffect.net, 791- 7870

· The Opportunity Alliance – Kelsea Dunham kelsea.dunham@opportunityalliance.org, 523-5063

· Center for Grieving Children – Erica Swain Erica@cgcmaine.org, 775-5216

· Day One – Rebecca Howes rebeccah@ day-one.org, 767-0991, ext. 120

· Junior Achievement of Maine – Michelle Anderson manderson@jamaine.org, 347-4333

· Maine Adaptive – Deb Maxfield dmaxfield@maineadaptive.org, events@maineadaptive.org, 824-2440

· Susan L. Curtis Foundation – info@susancurtisfoundation.org, 774-1552

· STRIVE – Katelynn Davis kdavis@pslservices.org, 774-6278

· Boys & Girls Clubs of Greater Portland and Auburn/Lewiston – Ann Messinger amessinger@bgcmaine.org, 874-1069

· Riding to the Top Therapeutic Center – Susan Cole scole@ridingtothetop.org, 892-2813, ext. 21, or post message on the Riding to the Top Facebook page.

· Seeds of Peace – Caitlin Golub cgolub@seedsofpeace.org

· Kids First Center – Peg Libby peglibby@kidsfirstcenter.org, 761-2709

· Camp Sunshine – Michael Smith msmith@campsunshine.org, 655-3800

· Big Brothers Big Sisters of Southern Maine – Casey Hartford casey.hartford@somebigs.org, 773-KIDS

The race will also allow registered runner transfers beginning May 1 through June 30. The race will charge a $5 transfer fee. Cape Elizabeth residents registered in the 600 entries allocated to Cape Elizabeth residents can only transfer to another Cape Elizabeth resident.

Return to top