2017-09-15 / Community

Ballot set in Cape

By Michael Kelley
Staff Writer

CAPE ELIZABETH – After it looked like there wouldn’t be enough candidates interested in filling the vacancies on the town council and school board, there will be one competitive race.

Four individuals have entered the ring to replace Patty Grennon and Kathy Ray on the town council: Peter McCarthy, of Balsam Road; Valerie Randall, of Woodland Road; Christopher Straw, of Shore Road and James Tasse, of Cliff Avenue.

Grennon, a councilor since 2014 and Ray, a councilor since 2011, chose not to run for re-election. The two school board incumbents with expiring terms Joanna Morrissey and Barbara Power also chose not to run. Mohammed Shir, of Ocean House Road and Hope Straw, of Shore Road, are expected to fill those seats. Morrissey has served on the board since 2011 and Powers since 2014.

Terms for the new councilors and school board members begin Monday, Dec. 11 and run through Monday, Dec. 20, 2020. Voters will head to elect the new councilors and school board members, and vote on state ballot measures, Tuesday, Nov. 7 from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. in the Cape Elizabeth High School Cafeteria.

Staff Writer Michael Kelley can be reached at 282-4337, ext. 237.

Return to top